top of page
Search
  • Jenna

My Excursion to Pompeii

This past Tuesday, I went on a half-day excursion to Pompeii after class!

We first took the Circumvesuviana commuter train from Sorrento to Pompeii


After entering the ruins, we started our 2 hour guided tour. I learned so much and I was surprised of how big the site actually was. Once an ancient Roman city, Pompeii was covered in 15ft of ash when Mount Vesuvius erupted in 79 AD. The ash actually helped preserve the city until it was rediscovered in the 1700s. In this first picture you can see Mount Vesuvius looming in the background.


This was a roman bath house with the original frescos still on the walls.


Pompeii is a UNESCO World Heritage Site status and is one of the most popular tourist attractions in Italy, with approximately 2.5 million visitors every year.


After the tour, we took some pictures and wandered around a bit more, and then embarked home on the train. This Saturday I will be touring the Amalfi Coast to visit the cities of Positano and Amalfi.

I will update again soon!

xx Jenna

12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page